Too Much Work, Too Little Time

21 Nov

It’s a good thing that I love my job. And I really do…I love nearly everything about it. I love the challenges that it presents, I love the variety of the tasks and cases that I get to handle, and I love the people that I work with. What I don’t love is the workload itself in terms of how MUCH of it there is. That could change and you would not hear me complain. Not at all.

Right now, I’m ridiculously swamped at work. Now, I know you’ve heard people say that they’re “swamped” with work. That’s all well and good, but I have a hunch that if you took all of the work that the typical “swamped” person has to do and put it next to my pile, it would look like Mount Everest sitting next to a little hill that the neighborhood kids like to go sledding down in the winter.

Let’s just say that there’s a lot to do at my work. How much? Well, I regularly put in 60 hours per week during busy times, and I still bring work home with me. Now, my work is worth it and I am definitely well paid for what I do, but holy crap, can a girl have some time to herself? Fortunately I regularly take time off, too, and I have some flexibility on most days with my schedule so I can take long lunches to de-stress, etc. That kind of thing helps me to stay sane, at least.

Anyway, this will be a shorter blog since (you guessed it) I have work that is piling up as we speak. I just had to take a little break and wave my SOS signal in the air in case someone can magically disappear all of this crap I have to do.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

