I Need to Get in Shape

17 Nov

I came to the realization today that I need to get back in shape. Let me preface this with a few disclosures. First of all, I’m completely happy with how I look. Women ask me all the time how I stay in such great shape, and I say, “Believe me, I’m not…I’m just blessed with good genes!” Still, since I was a distance runner on the track team in high school as well as college, I know what “good shape” really is and it’s not just “looking good in your favorite jeans.”

Today I took the stairs to my office like I do from time to time in order to avoid getting too lazy, and while I wasn’t out of breath at the top, it was harder than it should have been. Now and then, when I get a sign like that which indicates that I’m not in great shape, I really hop to it and re-prioritize working out and exercising.

If I don’t make it a priority, it’s really easy to get lazy and not work out for months at a time because my life is pretty busy. Therefore, it’s really only my competitive nature that gets me to go for a run or head to the gym, because to be honest it doesn’t fit easily into my schedule at all. Still, working out is not just about looks but also about being healthy, and especially in a high stress career I think it’s important to get some cardio exercise in regularly. So, off to the gym I go to get a good sweat in!

Leave a Reply

