Dating Material?

3 Dec

It’s not exactly a big moment in my life when I meet a new guy, because this is New York: the city is literally crawling with them. Well, that makes them sound like bugs, which is only appropriate for some of the male population, but you get my point. They’re everywhere.

Anyhow, what IS noteworthy is when I meet one that might actually be (gasp!) worth dating. And hopefully writing about this in my humble little blog doesn’t jinx everything, but I think I’ve met one that fits the lofty criteria.

What’s the criteria, you ask? Oh, here it is: those who want to date me must 1) not be crazy, 2) be at least a bit attractive, 3) have a sense of humor, 4) have a job of some sort, and 5) definitely NOT be crazy. Now, generally if #1 doesn’t disqualify a guy, #5 gets them on the last-minute double-check. You have to double-check the crazy thing in New York, after all.

Well, there’s a guy named Jason that I just met who shockingly seems to meet all five criteria, at least so far. Let’s not cross our fingers too much because you never know, but he’s at least worth going on a couple of dates with. He’s cute, really funny, has a pretty good job (I’m not materialistic, I have my own money; it’s more of a sign of responsibility than anything) and is not crazy!

We have a date coming up next weekend, although we’ve kind of had an unofficial date already when we had lunch recently. Still, it wasn’t a full-blown date, so I’m a little excited for the real one. He’s a fun guy, so at the very least it should be a good time!

Leave a Reply

